HTC Desire S S-OFF hboot 2.00.002

How to downgrade the hboot in order to be able to use revolutionary.io.

IMPORTANT
Most of the links in this post are not valid anymore. If you are interested by the subject try http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1399331.

The main source for this post was an article on miui-germany.de. You will need adb and fastboot. If you don’t want to install the full Android SDK you can download them from miui-germany.de or from here.

1. Put the phone in debug mode:
- disable fastboot Settings -> Power -> Fastboot or Settings -> Applications -> Fastboot.
- enable USB debugging Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB debugging.

2. Unlock the bootloader:
- you will need to login on htcdev.com. If you don’t have an account create one.
- go to www.htcdev.com/bootloader.
- choose All Other Supported Models and follow the instructions.

3. Root and change version:
- start the phone in fastboot mode and connect the usb cable.
- run fastboot oem lock. Reboot the phone.
- download zergRush from miui-germany.de or from here.
- extract the content of zergRush.zip in the same folder as adb.exe.
- run
adb push zergRush /data/local/tmp
adb push misc_version /data/local/tmp
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/zergRush
adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/misc_version
adb shell /data/local/tmp/zergRush

At this point the adb shell should close and restart with root permissions.
- run adb shell /data/local/tmp/misc_version -s 1.27.405.6.

4. Downgrade hboot:
- download RUU_Saga_HTC_Europe_1.28.401.1.
- run the RUU and follow the instructions on your PC screen.
- after 5 – 10 min the RUU will install Android 2.3.3, HBOOT 0.98.0000, S-ON.

5. Go to revolutionary.io and follow the instructions here to S-OFF your phone.

13 Comments on “HTC Desire S S-OFF hboot 2.00.002”

  1. hi – i know its a bit late. but i dont have access to adb, only fastboot functions. can i write the extracted rom from the RUU? having issues :( and bit of a noob. ph just wont boot!

    • sorry, i meant zergrush! or should i mount those directories via clockworkmod and copy the files over?

      • ;-) says:

        Hi – I don’t think it will work. Probably you can copy the zergrush files on the phone with clockworkmod (I use 4ext not clockworkmod) but you will need a running Android to run the scripts.

  2. rayman says:

    I’v tried to flash rom on my Desire s, with s on, but after flashing my phone always going to recovery, and when i m trying to wipe dalwick i get e:unknown volume for path sd ext. Is that a problem, or i must downgrade hboot. And can i downgrade from recovery or bootloader,cauz i can t turn on the phone. Please help

  3. Hi, I have a question: must you make s-off for desire-s hboot 2.xxx in order to install custom ROM like CM 10.1 or you must only unlock the bootloader?

    Thanks!

  4. Ram says:

    When I just typed fastboot oem lock in cmd, my phone got relocked again :( :(
    My phone is HBOOT 2.00.0002 S-ON with custom ROM Reaper V.2.1

  5. jeff says:

    cannot stat ‘misc_version’: No such file or directory

  6. michael says:

    can someone do a video for downgrading the hboot for htc desire s please,thank you

  7. Dennis Teo says:

    My Desire S is now unlock but still with S-on after using the HTCDev method. It does not have any OS in it after the wiping it, somehow it just boots into HTC white screen or TWRP recovery. I remember it was S-off after HTCDev method but I think HTC turns on the S-ON it when it detected I was installing a custom Rom. Sad thing I forgot to do a nandroid back-up.

    I have TWRP Recovery on it, so I’m sure I have root privileges and also my ADB command line shows # sign. So that means I don’t have to use zergRush file. I can boot into recovery and adb can recognize it as an HTxxxx recovery device.

    I was able to push the misc_version to a folder but running ./misc_version -s 1.27.405.6 or from windows command prompt adb shell /directory/misc_version -s 1.27.405.6 gives me a message sbin/sh: /directory/misc_version: not found. If I do (ls command) inside the /directory I can find the misc_version, so I’m sure I pushed the file into that directory. Don’t know if there is an additional word command like run or something. Please help. I tried different searches to find an answer to this step, but I think I’ve already reach a point where I already need to ask someone for help. I know that I’m almost at the last step so I can run the revolutionary.io. I’m using windows 7 though, but I have and Ubuntu desktop, would it matter if I do it in Windows or Linux?

    • ;-) says:

      Hi,

      Did you change the permissions for “misc_version” (adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/misc_version) ?
      You have to make “misc_version” executable in order to run it.

      • Dennis Teo says:

        Thank you for your reply. I finally found my problem I need to push all the files from the misc_version folder in order for it to work. Yes I changed the version number of misc_version for the gingerbread stock rom to work. The RUU European does not work for me since I’m in Asia, found the right RUU for my region at androidruu.com. From the different forum in XDA they recommended to use an RUU beginning in 1 since this file will flash your phone to gingerbread and the hboot to 0.98.002. After that it was smooth sailing with revolutionary.io. Now my Desire S phone is using carbon custom rom 4.3. Just also remember to relock the phone for the RUU installation to work.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.